skip to main content

txpros txirp mccs-cms truck-stop temporary permits

Apportioned Registration

txirp logoTxDMV has a program for licensing commercial vehicles engaged in interstate operations. Apportioned registration, also known as the International Registration Plan (IRP), lets you obtain registration credentials in one jurisdiction, giving you the freedom of interstate travel without the inconvenience and expense of purchasing trip permits.

If you operate interstate, you may qualify for apportioned registration. To learn if you qualify, contact your local TxDMV Regional Service Center or send us an email at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

How to Apply

All apportioned accounts are maintained in our online system, TxIRP. If this is your first time to obtain Apportioned registration on your vehicles, please visit your local TxDMV Regional Service Center to set-up your registration account.

Once your account is set-up, you may make changes to and renew your registration using one of the following methods:

txirpApply online through TxIRP. If you do not have a user name and password for TxIRP, send us an email or call (512) 374-5250.

  • Visit one of the TxDMV Regional Service Centers, or
  • Mail renewal and/or supplemental applications to Texas Department of Motor Vehicles, Motor Carrier Division – IRP Renewal, P.O. Box 26440, Austin, TX 78755-0440.

Information for New Customers

TxIRP Carrier Booklet

Information for Existing Customers

TxIRP Renewal Instruction Booklet

TxDMV Regional Service Center

As a result of House Bill 2305 passed during the 83rd legislative session, the State of Texas stopped issuing inspection stickers and transitioned to a "Two Steps, One Sticker" vehicle inspection and registration program. Since March 1, 2015, your vehicle is no longer issued an inspection sticker and your cab card or registration receipt will serve as proof of inspection and registration. If you have any questions or need assistance, please call our office at 1-888-368-4689; or visit us online at

Fees and Payment Information

Registration fees are calculated based on distance percentages for each jurisdiction in which your vehicle or fleet operates.

Fees are payable by personal check, business check, cashier's check or money order in person, online via electronic check (ACH), or credit card (a service charge of 25 cents plus 2.25 percent will be added).


More Information

If the gross vehicle weight of your vehicle is 55,000 pounds or more, Federal law requires that proof of payment of the Federal Heavy Vehicle Use Tax (HVUT) be provided at time of vehicle registration.

As an apportioned carrier, you are required to maintain detailed operational records in order to renew your apportioned registration each year. Base jurisdictions are required to examine an average of 3% of the number of renewed fleets each year to ensure compliance with the IRP and to guarantee that the proper revenues are being collected for each jurisdiction. As a result, every motor carrier registered with the TxIRP will be subject to a compliance examination of their operational records.

IRP Compliance Examination

Apportioned tow trucks must also maintain registration through the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR).

Copyright © 2017 Texas Department of Motor Vehicles. All rights reserved. - 4000 Jackson Ave, Austin, TX 78731